Shipyard awards Hawaii students

(Via Ho’okele News)


Jensin Sommer

Pearl Harbor Naval Shipyard Public Affairs

Pearl Harbor Naval Shipyard & Intermediate Maintenance Facility (PHNSY&IMF) recognized 10 high school students for their dedication to Science/Technology/Engineering/Mathematics (STEM) activities and academic excellence during an Aug. 15 ceremony at the facility.

Each student will receive a $2,000 cash award, which was funded by the National Defense Education Program (NDEP).

Capt. Brian Osgood, shipyard commander, congratulated the young men and women for their achievements.

“You represent the best our state has to offer and this award is a deserving tribute to your hard work and dedication to STEM,” said Osgood. “I am proud of Pearl Harbor Naval Shipyard’s support to STEM in Hawaii — we are the largest employer of engineers in the state, so it’s imperative we play a role in growing our future work-force.”

Hawaii Gov. Neil Abercrombie was also present at the ceremony, which preceded the shipyard’s apprentice program graduation program. He shook hands with each awardee and commended them for their achievement.

One of the students is Racielie Andrade, a recent graduate of Maui High School, who flew to Oahu just for the ceremony. The Kahului, Maui, native begins freshman year at Cal Poly Pomona in two weeks and said she is proud to receive the recognition.

“Throughout my high school career, I dedicated a lot of time to robotics, so I’m glad others such as the shipyard appreciate the importance of robotics and STEM in our community,” Andrade said.

To be eligible for the STEM awards, applicants at the time of application had to be a resident of the State of Hawaii, a current high school (public, private or home-schooled) student in good academic standing, and able to provide proof of active participation in Hawaii’s annual FIRST Robotics Competition (FRC) for at least one full academic year.

The STEM award winners are Racieli Andrade, Maui High; William Blaser, Waialua High; Matthew Choy, Maryknoll High; Dominique Dold, Sacred Hearts Academy; Paul Hutchinson, Waialua High; Cody Miyataki, Waialua High; Christopher Nguyen, Farrington High; Kristen Kate Tumacder; Sacred Hearts Academy; Angela Wong, Sacred Hearts Academy; Lansen Eto, Island Academy (Kauai).

For more information, visit and on Facebook at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s