RIMPAC 2014 facts

(Via Ho’okele News)

Held every two years by Commander, U.S. Pacific Fleet, RIMPAC is a multinational maritime exercise that takes place in and around the Hawaiian Islands.

RIMPAC is intended to provide a unique training opportunity that helps participants foster and sustain the cooperative relationships that are critical to ensuring the safety of the sea-lanes and security of the world’s oceans.

RIMPAC 2014 is the 24th in a series of Pacific naval exercises, which began in 1971 as an annual exercise and became a biannual exercise in 1974. It is the world’s largest multinational exercise. The participating nations and forces will exercise a wide range of capabilities and demonstrate the inherent flexibility of maritime forces.

Twenty-two nations, 49 surface ships, six submarines, more than 200 aircraft and approximately 25,000 personnel will participate.This year’s exercise includes units or personnel from Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, France, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, People’s Republic of China, Peru, the Republic of Korea, the Republic of the Philippines, Singapore, Tonga, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The first RIMPAC exercise in 1971 involved the U.S., U.K., Canada, Australia and New Zealand. The U.S., Canada and Australia have participated in every RIMPAC.

One thought on “RIMPAC 2014 facts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s